Home‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Upcoming Webinar on the MIMES hosted by Ecosystem Based Management Tools - March 15th!

posted Feb 17, 2011, 11:06 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Feb 17, 2011, 11:15 AM ]

 Demonstration of Multi-scale Integrated Models of Ecosystem Services (MIMES) by Roel Boumans and David McNally of AFORDable Futures LLC (March 15 at 3 pm US EDT/Noon US PDT/7 pm GMT).  The Multi-scale Integrated Models of Ecosystem Services (MIMES) is a suite of models for land use change and marine spatial planning decision making.  The models quantify the effects of land and sea use change on ecosystem services and can be run at global, regional, and local levels.  The MIMES use input data from GIS sources, time series, etc. to simulate ecosystem components at under different scenarios defined by stakeholder input.  These simulations can help stakeholders evaluate how development, management and land/sea use decisions will affect natural, human and built capital.  Building interactive databases for regional, integrated decision making is an important aspect of implementing MIMES.  MIMES has been developed in collaboration with a large international group of scientists and resources managers.  This on-going work is archived at a Google Code site.  Learn more about MIMES at www.uvm.edu/giee/mimes or www.afordablefutures.com/services/mimes.  Register for the webinar at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/907465801.

Comments